Homemade Deodorant

Get ready for this. Brace yourself. Seriously.

Ok, so you all know I’ve been on an all-natural kick, thus sparking the idea for this blog. I have tried most of the neat tricks that I come across and have willingly shared them with my vast audience (all 5 of you!). Whenever I run out of a traditional, store-brought product, I research how I can make it myself. I’m looking for healthier alternatives, with fewer chemicals and if I can save a buck or two, even better!

I was leery when it came to deodorant, mostly because I can seriously start to stink. Living in Southeast Louisiana in the middle of the summer, the whole city is musty at one point or another. Something about the thick air that you have to eat your way through and the blazing temperatures—the combination does NOT make for pleasant aromas. But, I also know that deodorants and antiperspirants are SO bad for you, so it was worth a shot at possibly stinking a little to prolong my life! (A lot of the mainstream deodorants that are advertised come filled with aluminum and zinc, not to mention they are pumped full of parabens and sulfates galore—all of which are potential carcinogens! How is this stuff still on the market??!!) So, I researched some of my favorite sites and on the first try, found a complete and total winner! (Thanks, as always to Crunchy Betty!)

It really works!

I have to start by saying that y’all should feel blessed that I’m sharing this recipe with you and not patenting it myself to make MILLIONS. But, alas, someone shared it with me, so it’s not really mine to hoard and profit from. I could make a killing off of this stuff because it works better than ANY deodorant I have EVER tried!! For the past few years, I’ve been using natural deodorants, like Tom’s or Crystal, but they’ve always left that faint B.O. smell, if for no one else to smell but myself.  And I’ve also tried going without it completely, which pretty much ends in the same result of using said natural brands. I’d wanted to make my own, but didn’t have an empty deodorant jar to use, so when I finished mine last week, I was ready for the plunge.

Oh my GOSH!! This is BY FAR the BEST kreative koncoction I have experienced! Works amazing!! I put a small amount of it on in the morning, go to work, hit the gym and by the time I get home, sweaty from a crazy workout, there is NO stinky smell AT ALL!! Even my boyfriend was surprised. Bless his heart. He always has to try my koncoctions or suffer through smelling mine. I often have him do a smell test when I’m feeling a little musty myself, with my armpit waving in the air. This usually ends in him crinkling his nose and saying, “You may want to powder that down”. This time was different. There were no words, no funny faces, no moment where he was thinking to himself, “Why do I love this stinky woman?” None of that. When I uttered the words, waiting with bated breath, hoping for the best, “Babe, how do I smell”, he says, “Fine.” “Fine? Like, you don’t smell any odor?” “Nope. Nothing!” I jump up and down and say, “How do you like me now, baby!? How do you like me now?!” It really was more of a victory, more so because he has put up with me going all hippie on him.  But, trust me, he’ll be trying this koncoction as soon as his deodorant runs out, no doubt!

Here’s what you need:

  • An empty deodorant container or jar to store finished product
  • 1/4 c. baking soda
  • 1/4 c. cornstarch or arrowroot powder
  • 5 Tbsp. coconut oil
  • Essential oils (optional – I used 4 drops of Tea Tree Oil (TTO) and 4 drops of Lavender)

In a small bowl, I mixed all the ingredients together until smooth. If you have never used coconut oil before, it is solid at room temperature and starts to soften when mixed with other ingredients, but still stays pretty solid. I also chose to use arrowroot powder because cornstarch can cause irritation on sensitive skin types. I often have reactions to regular deodorants, so I figured better safe than sorry. Once everything was blended, just spoon it into your deodorant container. Make sure if you’re using an old deodorant container, you clean it out really well and that the dial is turned as low as it will go, so you can fill it up to the maximum capacity. By the time I mixed everything up, the coconut oil was kind of soft, so I just put in the fridge for a few minutes and it hardened right up. Now I just keep it in my medicine cabinet like I did my old deodorant and it works great!!

The next time I make this, I would probably cut down a little bit on the ingredients. It made more than my old deodorant container would hold, so I had to store some in another container and just massage it in with my fingers. No big deal, but I’d probably use 4 tablespoons of coconut oil and less than a ¼ cup for each baking soda and arrowroot powder. It really just depends on the size of your container. I used TTO with lavender, but TTO can also cause sensitivity, so if you are unfamiliar with how your skin reacts to it, you may want to try something else to start off.

Don’t knock it. Try it.

Seriously, guys, if there’s one kreative koncoction that you try, I hope it’s this one. I was pleasantly surprised that 1) it was so easy and 2) it worked so well!! It kind of infuriates me that I’ve been spending my money on JUNK for so many years and I could have been making a FAR superior product right at home.

I know I definitely won my boyfriend over when he got a whiff of, well, nothing but the faint scent of coconut, TTO and lavender from my armpits. Guess I’ll be smelling mighty fine from here on out! Sweet!

About Kreative Koncoctions

I should fill this out soon! :)

Posted on July 6, 2012, in Detox, Health, Skincare and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Interesting indeed. Mitchum unscented has always been the only one for me — and it keeps on working– but yours sounds impossibly simple. I keep hearing about coconut oil lately, so I think the universe is telling me to buy some. And figure out all the ways it can improve my life. Thanks for the nudge!

Leave a Reply

