Oil Pulling Follow up

I think I have been doing my oil pulling for about three weeks now and unfortunately, not much has changed for me and I’m not sure if that’s a good or bad thing. I’ve been pulling daily, first thing in the morning before I eat or drink anything for about 15-20 minutes. After I spit, I still feel my sinuses drain pretty quickly but my sinuses and allergies are still bothering me pretty regularly. (I was hoping to find a quick cure that would get me away from using my neti pot because Ihatethat feeling of saline in my nose, but I may need to go back to that because it is SO effective!) My boyfriend, who suffers from migraine headaches has also been oil pulling the same amount of time that I have and he is still getting his migraines pretty regularly. I had read previously that oil pulling can help with our particular ailments, but maybe not. We’re now even more skeptical that this may not work for us, but again, we’re going to keep at it for a while longer to see if our bodies “detox” and things start to go better for us.

A curious post by Dr. Andrew Weil that I came across today seems to stomp what I’ve read elsewhere by stating:

On the Internet, oil pulling is promoted as a cure for a long list of disorders including headache, bronchitis, toothache, thrombosis, eczema, ulcers and other diseases of the stomach, intestines, heart, blood, kidney, liver, lungs and female reproductive organs. I’ve also seen claims that oil pulling can prevent the growth of malignant tumors. I know of no evidence to support any of these claims. (Emphasis mine. Read Dr. Weil’s Q&A about Oil Pulling here.)

Well, that kinda makes me rethink this process. However, one thing I can attest to—my mouth feels and looks cleaner. My teeth are nice and white and it’s also helped with the pain from a cavity I have in one of my molars. If you’re anything like me, you hate going to the dentist, so I keep putting off getting it filled. It had been bothering me for a while and since oil pulling regularly, I’m not feeling any pain. So, maybe oil pulling won’t cure all of my ailments and maybe I need to go back to that darn neti pot, but I’ll probably keep the oil pulling up just to see what happens. From what I’ve read, the effects of oil pulling on internal organs and issues could take several months to clear up. I’ll let you know the outcome! 🙂

I did find a couple other websites related to oil pulling that you may find helpful if you have more questions. Happy swishing!

A Personal Experience with Oil Pulling

The Benefits of Oil Pulling

Dr Weil’s Q&A

Oil Pulling for Detoxing

About Kreative Koncoctions

I should fill this out soon! :)

Posted on May 3, 2012, in Detox, Health and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I was curious to see how this worked for you. I have been trying it for a week now, and everything that I have read says that it is really good for getting deep down clean for the gums and is excellent for removing bacteria from the mouth and preventing gum disease. I suppose less bacteria in the body is great, even if it doesn’t “cure” you of anything else 🙂
    Thank you for the update!

Leave a Reply

